Make Memories

#12 on my “To You List” is to make an effort to spend time with those who are in my life. I often find myself saying how I don’t have time to hang out with friends but the truth of the matter is that I should make time.

We all have busy lives. Life is constantly changing and there is always something new being thrown our way. The one thing that is always there are the friends and family that we have. The best version of myself is someone who makes the time to spend time with the people I care about. A text or a phone call isn’t enough – it’s about face-to-face conversations and making memories.

I think that a lot of the time we get so sucked into this technology-consumed world that we think a “like” on Instagram is the same thing as saying “hi” to a person in our life. We text our friends “Happy Birthday” instead of picking up the phone. I am making a promise to myself to stop giving into the mindset that technology communication is enough and to start putting an effort into building and maintaining my relationships.

Life is short and instead of one day regretting that I had spent more time with a person, I want to be able to look back on them and see all the memories we shared and adventures we went on. Life is nothing without having the people you care about in it.

At the end of the day it’s a balance – you don’t have to see a friend every week. The important thing is to remember that years from now you’re not going to be thinking about the project your working on or how early you have to get up the next day – you’ll be thinking about the people who made the years go by so quickly with so many stories to look back on.

Leave a Reply

