Thrifty Thrifting

One of my loves in life has always been fashion. From a young age I was always designing clothes whether that was for my Barbie’s or actually on a dress form. #11 on my “To You List” is to upgrade my style. In college I find myself wearing the same clothing items every week – a rotation of workout clothes and sweatpants. I always envy the people who seem to have such effortless outfits. There also isn’t much room in my student budget to invest in an entirely new wardrobe.

Instead, I am taking the time to embrace thrift shopping. Shops like Goodwill are a poor girls best friend. Don’t underestimate what you can find. A men’s wool sweater for $4 may seem like it isn’t for you, but it is the perfect comfy yet stylish go-to when paired with leggings and a pair of moccasins.

One thing you should definitely check out? My Pinterest board “thrifty threads.” Even if there isn’t a thrift store near you to scour for potential, you’d be surprised how easily you can revamp old pieces in your wardrobe. Some of the clothing items you never thought you would wear may just become your favorite pieces. If you want to check out some of my DIY clothing upcycle videos stop by┬ámy YouTube page!

The best version of myself is someone who has a clear sense of style. Now that I’ve figured out how to do that with pennies, I’m ready for the runway.

Leave a Reply

