Body Positivity

For item #10 on my “To You List,” I am dedicating myself to body positivity. I am doing this not just for myself, but also in regards to others. I find that it is all too easy to scrutinize myself and get in my head about my body and I know that many other people feel the same way.

Some days I feel like I’m out-of-shape and other days I can’t help but think that maybe I’m too skinny. With the pressure of society and the images that the media is constantly putting out it is so easy to go back and forth thinking this way. Don’t get me wrong, some days I am completely happy with myself, but we all have ours bad days.

I want to add this item to my “To You List” to make a promise to myself to try and only see the positive in myself. Whenever I have negative thoughts about my appearance, I am going to try to make an effort to point out all of my good qualities. It isn’t conceited to appreciate yourself.

Something that is helping me with this idea of body positivity goes back to my “To You List” item regarding making a change and committing to a fitness routine. Knowing that I am consistently making an effort to have my ideal body gives me the mindset that even if I’m not there yet, I am making sure to make an effort into looking how I want. After all, all you can really ever do is try and not give up.

The other part that goes with this item of body positivity is to stop comparing myself to others. I think that it is all too easy to look at someone and think that they have the perfect body in comparison to me. This also works in reverse. I know that there are times I see someone in worse shape than me and I use that as a way to feel better about myself. This is not a mindset that anyone should have.

Our bodies are not competition whether your comparison results in negative or positive thoughts. We each have our own bodies and our own ideal versions of how we want to look and treating our bodies as a competition is in no way healthy. While the media may encourage us comparing ourselves to Victoria’s Secret models, I think it is beyond overdue that we put that mindset to rest. We are all beautiful in our own way and at the end of the day the person we should be focusing on is ourselves.

Leave a Reply

