Speak Up

We’re finally up to the last single digit of my “To You List,” item #9! This item is to use my love for art to let my voice be heard and to express myself. I find that often I shy away from sharing my opinions and emotions when there truly is no better way to express how you feel and who you are than through art.

While you may feel as though you aren’t artistic, the opportunities are endless. There are so many different ways to let your voice be heard. Poetry, songwriting, painting, drawing, and photography are just a few. Find something that strikes your interest and give it a try – the worst thing that can happen is that you decide it isn’t for you.

I think the most difficult thing that comes with speaking up is worrying about what others nay think about your opinions and feelings. One of the best things about letting those thoughts be expressed through art is that often the beauty of it will allow people to see appreciate your perspective even if they don’t necessarily agree with it.

I know that often I think people won’t care about what I have to say, but I’m making a promise to myself that regardless of if people care or not it’s important to not just sit back and let every voice but my own be heard. Pushing yourself to put your thoughts out there is such a good way to grow and figure out yourself. You may also inspire a few others along the way.

Leave a Reply

