Healthy is Happy

Item #8 on my “To You List” is to invest in a healthy lifestyle. I’ll admit I have tried several attempts at this throughout the years (haven’t we all?) but none of my efforts ever stuck. In high school, I was a pescetarian (a vegetarian that eats fish) for over 3 years. I followed the diet again in college my sophomore year for a few months. While becoming a pescetarian isn’t something that I plan to do in order to fulfill this item on my list, I do think it is something worth considering if you have the same goal.

Being a full vegetarian – or even more committed, a vegan – is a lot of work. You have to have incredible willpower to be able to cut so many basic foods out from your diet that you’re used to consuming in your daily routine. Not only is it hard to do this in aspect of self-control, it is also hard to do so in an aspect of health. For a lot of people, it can be difficult to make sure you’re getting the proper amount of protein and other nutrients in order to be healthy.

Being a pescetarain makes this a little easier since fish is a great source of protein (and it lets you indulge in yummy foods like Chinese and sushi). If you’re considering trying a different diet than you’re used to, make sure you do your research. I struggled with not having enough iron or protein in my daily diet and it put a dent in my health. Remember that being healthy does not mean starving yourself or picking up a new lifestyle. Being healthy is simply knowing what is good for your body and what is not and to avoid eating what isn’t or at least eat it in moderation.

In order to check this item off my “To You List” I’m vowing to make sure I increase my protein intake. I plan on doing this with the help of protein shakes, but your body and diet definitely doesn’t have to match with mine and it probably won’t. I personally struggle with getting enough food of substance into my diet, so in order to be healthier I am making a vow to not hold back on eating food because of calories but rather to eat when I’m hungry and make sure the food I’m eating will give my body the fuel it needs.

Whatever you decide to do for your own healthy lifestyle, keep the mindset that it is a lifestyle. That mindset is the most important thing when it comes to committing to idea that “healthy is happy.”

Leave a Reply

