Giving Back

#7 on my “to you list” is to start giving back more to my community. Since joining a sorority in college, the doors have been opened to a number of opportunities when it comes to volunteering – particularly with our philanthropy, Autism Speaks. Still, I know that I, along with many people, struggle to make the time in our busy schedules to give back to others. After all, how much of a difference can you make without a major time commitment?

I challenge you to end that mindset and relish in the fact that giving back gives you the most wonderful and fulfilling feeling. Volunteering at your local food bank once a week is hardly a commitment, and I promise there are so many other volunteer opportunities in your community that actually make a difference.

I know that my ideal self is someone who is selfless and makes the time for others who are not as fortunate as I am. While it’s a small start, I hope to continue to do more and more to make a difference in the lives of others. A goal of mine has always been to leave a positive impact on others and I truly do believe that there is no better way to do so than volunteering and giving back. Even a simple action such as paying for the coffee of the person behind you can be the difference between a smile or a frown.

Never underestimate just how far a little bit of kindness can go.

Leave a Reply

