It’s Never Too Late

As a senior in college, I find myself questioning more and more what I want to do for the rest of my life. Surely I’m not the same high school senior who picked a major a few years back. As time goes on, our interests change and sometimes they don’t align with the plan we had set up.

The closer I get to the real world, the more I realize that the career I originally chose to pursue may not be something I want to be doing for the rest of my life. My biggest fear is to have a job that I am unhappy with, but I want to make a point that while it may seem overwhelming and scary, it is never too late to change the career that you’re going to be spending a lifetime doing.

Of course, money is definitely an obstacle when it comes to switching career tracks. As a now senior in college it is virtually impossible for me to go back and do it all again, so while I may have one bachelor’s degree it doesn’t necessarily align with what I want to do.

The good thing about the world today is that there are endless certifications that can help you get into the career you want to be in for a fraction of the price of getting a full degree at a college or university. But if getting certified is something that you don’t think will help you, there is still no reason to get discouraged.

If you want something badly enough, you will find a way. I think that there is no better thing to dedicate yourself to than your career, so while money is certainly a thing, if you put in the effort to apply to every scholarship that comes your way and save your money instead of buying that medium Dunkin coffee, I do think that anything is possible.

That is why item #6 on my “to you list” is to remember that it’s never too late for a career change. I’ve always been told that there is a distinct difference between a career and a job and as I’m getting closer and closer to having the latter, I’m realizing that having a career is beyond important. Whatever it is that you decided to do, do something you love and something that makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

